Oscar Perks & Ayaka Shigeno

Saturday 17 October 2020: 7.30pm
Oscar Perks Piano & Ayaka Shigeno
Works by Bach, Debussy, Brahms & Strauss

Grand Hall at the Dorking Halls
Tickets £21

Oscar Perks Violin
Ayaka Shigeno

Bach Violin Sonata in E major, BWV1016
Debussy Violin Sonata in G minor
Brahms Scherzo in C minor from F-A-E Sonata
Strauss Violin Sonata in E flat major, Op.18

Piano sponsored by Chris & Sue Pratt

Oscar Perks and Ayaka Shigeno both studied at the Yehudi Menuhin School; they also now teach there and were married in 2019. Oscar went on to read music at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, where he studied composition with Robin Holloway. Oscar led the University Chamber Orchestra and performed with the Endellion String Quartet. He studied for his Masters with Lutsia Ibragimova at the Royal College of Music. Oscar’s composition The Twin Towers (2001) won the BBC Guardian Young Composer Competition. Ayaka continued her studies in Berlin. They will play an attractive and varied programme. Debussy himself described his sonata as “being full of a joyous tumult”. Strauss’ sonata, whilst full of lyrical beauty, places technical demands on both musicians.