Piatti String Quartet

Sunday 12 February 2017: 3.00pm
Piatti String Quartet
Works by Haydn, Mozart & Brahms

Martineau Hall at the Dorking Halls
Tickets £20



Haydn String Quartet in C major, Op.76 No.3 Emperor

Mozart Clarinet Quintet in A major, K581

Brahms String Quartet No.1 in C minor, Op.51 No.1


Nathaniel Anderson-Frank Violin
Michael Trainor Violin
David Wigram Viola
Jessie Ann Richardson Cello

Anna Hashimoto Clarinet


The Piatti String Quartet is one of Britain’s foremost young quartets. They have played in many venues around the UK, broadcast live on Radio 3, made several recordings, and also appeared abroad. They were prizewinners at the 2015 Wigmore Hall international quartet competition and have gathered many other prestigious awards.

The quartet’s series of three concerts will focus on Brahms, with a performance of each of his three string quartets. In this concert they play his first quartet, a darkly powerful and dramatic piece. The quartet are joined by Anna Hashimoto for the serenely beautiful Clarinet Quintet by Mozart; the concert starts with Haydn’s impressive Emperor quartet.

They will give a series of three concerts in Dorking, whose linking feature is the performance of all three quartets by Tchaikovsky, not often heard together as a cycle. In this first concert they also play quartets by Mozart and Beethoven.